Search
  • MCCPC

ACTION NOW!!

BACKGROUND:

Senate Bill 385 and House Bill 857 are “twin bills” that will ban the burning of creosote railroad ties for power generation statewide. If the bills pass, GRP Biomass Plants in Madison & Franklin will be forced to stop burning carcinogenic RR ties that are making people sick and polluting our air, water, & land.


HOW YOU CAN HELP MOVE SB 385 & HB 857 FORWARD:

SB 385 & HB 857 are moving rapidly through the Georgia Legislature.

The Rules Committees will meet Monday, March 9 and decide which bills go to the House & Senate Floors for debate. Thursday, March 12 is “Crossover Day” the deadline for the bills to pass from one house to the other.


Note: MCCPC will periodically send URGENT ACTION REQUESTS over the next few weeks.

BE WATCHING FOR URGENT REQUESTS & KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!

URGENT ACTION NEEDED!


CONTACT THE HOUSE & SENATE RULES COMMITTEE MEMBERS, THE SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE, GOVERNOR, & LIEUTENANT GOV. BY END OF DAY FRIDAY, MARCH 6 IF POSSIBLE (SEE LIST)


SAMPLE MESSAGE: (Be courteous & respectful!)

Dear Senator____________ or Representative_________ or Governor_____________etc,

“I urge you to support HB 857 & SB 385 to ban the burning of creosote railway ties statewide because (very short personal statement explaining reason).”

Example: I live in Madison (Franklin) County. The creosote emissions and RR chipping dust from the Madison (Franklin) GRP plant is carcinogenic and is polluting our air, land, & water. Our health, quality of life, and property values are being devalued.

Thank you,

(Your Name & Address)


Send it to as many as you can!!


SENATE RULES COMMITTEE:

Senator Jeff Mullins, Chair

Jeff.mullis@senate.ga.gov

(404) 656-0057

Senator Burt Jones

burt.jones@senate.ga.gov

(404) 656-0082

Senator John Albers

john.albers@senate.ga.gov

(404) 463-2598

Senator Mike Dugan

mike.dugan@senate.ga.gov

(404) 463-2478

Senator Larry Walker III

larry.walker@senate.ga.gov

(404) 656-0095

Senator Brandon Beach

brandon.beach@senate.ga.gov

(404) 463-2598

Senator Dean Burke

dean.burke@senate.ga.gov

(404) 656-0040

Senator Gloria S. Butler

gloria.butler@senate.ga.gov

(404) 656-0075

Senator Tyler Harper

tyler.harper@senate.ga.gov

(404) 463-5263

Senator Steve Henson

steve.henson@senate.ga.gov

(404) 656-0085

Senator Harold V. Jones II

harold.jones@senate.ga.gov

(404) 463-3942

Senator Horancea Tate

horacena.tate@senate.ga.gov

(404) 463-8053

Senator Renee S. Unterman

renee.unterman@senate.ga.gov

(404) 463-1368

HOUSE RULES COMMITTEE:

Rep Richard Smith, Chair

richard.smith@house.ga.gov

404.656.5141

Rep Matt Hatchett

matt.hatchett@house.ga.gov

404.656.5025

Rep Mandi L. Ballinger

mandi.ballinger@house.ga.gov

404.656.7153

Rep Shaw Blackmon

shaw.blackmon@house.ga.gov

404.463.7853

Rep Katie M. Dempsey

katie.dempsey@house.ga.gov

404.463-2248

Rep Barry Fleming

barry.fleming@house.ga.gov

404.656.5125

Rep Jan Jones

jan.jones@house.ga.gov

404.656.5072

Rep Lynn Smith

lynn.smith@house.ga.gov

404.656.7149

Rep Ron Stephens

ron.stephens@house.ga.gov

404.656.5115

Rep Darlene K. Taylor

darlene.taylor@house.ga.gov

404.656.7857

Rep Al Williams

al.williams@house.ga.gov

404.656.6372

Rep William Boddie

william.boddie@house.ga.gov

404.656.5058

Rep Jon G. Burns

jon.burns@house.ga.gov

404.656.5052

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE:

Rep David Ralston, Speaker

David.ralston@house.ga.gov

(404) 656-5020

LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR:

Geoff Duncan

Geoff.duncan@ltgov.ga.gov

(404) 656-5030

GOVERNOR:

Brian P. Kemp

Brian.kemp@georgia.gov

(404) 656-1776

66 views

© 2020 by MADISON COUNTY CLEAN POWER COALITION

  • Black Facebook Icon